Ganpati Bappa, Moraya!!

 

 

So this year I went to Mumbai to my cousin’s place for Ganeh Chaturthi. And it was sooo much fun! Nothing like I expected!

Well my cousin and his family stay in a chawl in Mumbai and let me tell you, it is definitely an experience staying there. In some aspects its just like living in a very large colony but in others, so much more different. Everyone is so united and gets together and makes you feel like a part of everything that’s going on there. Well my cousin had Ganesh idol in his house as well as the whole chawl had a Sarvajanik one. And my cousin is usually the one who stays up night after night with some of his buddies and designs the background and everything to keep the idol. This year he truly outdid himself and Ganeshji was looking fabulous sitting there!

The best part that I like about celebrating Ganesh Chaturthi with a whole lot of people is the Aarti! Not that I know any of them by heart, I just love everybody singing together and the dhol and the music! It’s beautiful! Everyone is so joyous and we stay up ate nights singing away to glory!

My cousin and his friends from the chawl organize a skit every year during Ganesh. This was the first year I was able to witness it as I never go to Mumbai for Ganesh. These skits are very famous stories in our family as they are always a big hit and for once I wanted to watch one rather than hear about it from others who did! So there we were all sitting on the steps while the actors got ready ‘behind the scenes’!! As always, it is India of course, they were so late in starting but definitely it was worth the wait! They did a skit from the stories of a very famous Marathi writer, none other than, Pu La Deshpande! He is just too good! I am sure his fans know exactly what I’m talking about. Well they did a skit named “Mhais” which translated means cow( I think!!). so the story starts in a bus with its weird collection of passengers an proceeds on how the bus knocks down the ‘Mhais’ and the situation leads from there! The suggestions, the police, the owner and everyone else also gets involved and finally the problem is solved. And just when everyone goes back to the bus, the one thing that started all this has disappeared from the scene!! Yes, the ‘Mhais’ has gone away unhurt while everyone is deciding how best to treat it! 😉

It was most enjoyable. The actors were too good sending the audience into peels of laughter and loud applause every now and then. An amazing way to spend forty five minutes I must say. All the actors were teenagers from the chawl itself and it was clear they had worked really hard to make this show a huge success. After the delightful skit came Antakshari! My cousin and another girl were the anchors and it was such good fun! Everybody, even the parents contributed and sang and danced along with us. That was a fun night which we all hoped would not end.

But alas, it did and my short but amazingly fun visit to my cousin’s place also ended. 😦

But never mind, I am definitely going to make it a point to go again next year just to see the skit as they will be completing 21 years and the whole festival be special worth attending!

So there you go, my Ganesh vacation went extremely well and I had amazing fun, made new friends and wished college would never start and my lovely hols would never end!

I know I’m a little late but,

Happy Ganesh Chaturthi to one and all! 🙂

6 Responses to “Ganpati Bappa, Moraya!!”


  1. 1 wavesnsands September 23, 2007 at 4:58 AM

    Yes! mhais is simply delightful(i think it means bullock) ..so is batatyachi chal…(hehe..english translation would be chawl of potatoes 😛 ) marathi lovers will miss P.L. for a long long time to come 😦

  2. 2 mysterynmagic September 23, 2007 at 5:50 AM

    hehe!! Yeah I wa confused with bullock too!
    P.L is just too good ya..

  3. 3 NT2016 September 23, 2007 at 10:54 AM

    cool post ….man!! u must have had so much fun ….anyways nothing beats the joy that ganesh ji brings..next year make it a point that u video tape it and post it on youtube…hehehe that the whole world can see the chawl’s skit

  4. 4 mysterynmagic September 23, 2007 at 2:52 PM

    Ha Ha Nisheed..thats a really good idea! Will definately try it!!

  5. 5 saurabh September 26, 2007 at 7:40 PM

    Omg omg…u stayed in a chawl??? luckieeeeee yuuuu…i love chawl’s…atleast 2 what i’ve seen in muvees they seem 2b reli kool and interesting

  6. 6 darshana parab September 27, 2007 at 10:29 AM

    hey i think ur vacation was really good with mhais
    (the skit)
    anyways ganesh is a memorable event which alwayz comes in our life
    so enjoy ganesh next year tooo


Leave a Reply

September 2007
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Blog Stats

  • 10,970 hits

I Feel…

My Unkymood Punkymood (Unkymoods)


